3 new web innovations / finds that are awesome ;)

I am self proclaimed online citizen, I mean spend a lot of time looking for information, sometimes mindless. I have always been a strong believer that to be intelligent in the modern times you do not need to know everything, but knowing where to find information about everything is what would make it easier. I know most of you were thinking google or wikepedia when reading the sentence above. Its not that simple, it is sometimes but then to have an understanding of which links will have more information and which will have less, you need to be on a familiar ground. Anyway, the point I was trying to make is that it is necessary in this day and age to be online at least for sometime everyday to be able to just browse the internet. About a couple of years ago, on the advise from my former boss, I took up browsing as an activity, Looking up for information or movies or just anything. Anything apart form your social networking, Youtubing, Mailing… for an Hour daily. It changed from an hour to 2 hours now, and to be honest, I am now hooked.

Most people will ask me what does it mean no FB ? Youtube ? email ? so what do you do ?? My answer is simple, Just browse for anything eventually you will find that one interesting thing that you are passionate about. Well I think I am talking to an audience that has the qualities that I am talking about, cos I am not sure that my blog comes under the social networking, entertainment etc umbrella. Ok then, getting back to the three web innovations that I found and are pretty cool.

1. PICAPP : This revolutionary service is actually awesome for any and all bloggers like me, You can find press and creative photography that is legally distributable, and embedded into blogs everywhere. I have started using the same, you can see it in my blog starting with the previous post and that is when I thought I should dedicate the entire post to it. You can check it out at http://www.picapp.com

2. Facebook Lite : Hehehe (Laughing sheepishly).. After all the talk about browsing apart from the social networking etc I am again suggesting another site related to social networking. However, this is an awesome application. Its from the facebook team and is a liter version which loads faster than the regular facebooks as the ads are lesser (non flash based) and also the information that you would get is also a little lesser than the regular facebook. But it’s a boon for me, cos I sometimes use facebook from my phone, and so the app has to be lighter to make it through the GPRS billing here in Dubai. Check it out here http://www.lite.facebook.com

3. IndiBlogger.in : This awesome resource is a compilation of all the Indian bloggers who have registered to have a Indian Blog ranking. I am glad that someone thought of it, actually I am now thinking, “Why did’nt I think of that ??”. However from recipies to politics, from poetry to photography this is an awesome resource of Indian Bloggers. Its not a lie that Bangalore is the Silicon city of India, cos you would see the highest bloggers in India are actually from Bangalore. Whohoo … me included 😉 Check out their site, http://www.indiBlogger.in

There is one other innovation which by far is the most anticipated atleast from my side. It’s the Chrome OS. Please see the video below yourself, to get an idea of chrome Os. Will pen my thoughts about this another time.

  1. Thanks a ton for including IndiBlogger in your list – we’re honoured!

    – The IndiBlogger Team

      • misterjester
      • December 1st, 2009

      MY pleasure …. and congratulations on the great job on IndiBlogger.in

      I just registered my blog on there ..

  2. Great post, thanks for including us!

    PicApp

      • misterjester
      • December 4th, 2009

      Thanks, you guys doing a great job there 😉

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

